Skip to content

School Girls

by on June 25, 2013

_MG_6776

BY SHELBY WOLFE

The directors, teachers, and children at Rahel’s school, the Sew Tsega Academy for students in kindergarten through eighth grade, were more welcoming to me than I ever would have thought.

On my first day there they gave me the opportunity to address the children through a microphone by introducing myself and telling them why I was there. They all clapped and smiled and told me they were happy to have me there.

For the next few hours, my camera and I was the main attraction.

I was sitting in a chair that the principal had provided for me in the corner of the recreation area. A group of little girls were whispering together in a huddle.

They kept on glancing over at me, so I waved to them and smiled. They turned to each other and giggled like I was the strangest creature they had ever seen.

I began to notice a line of twenty-plus girls forming towards me, and one-by-one, each little girl introduced themselves to me. I shook every one of their hands and told them it was nice to meet them.

They all became giddy again after talking to me.

Soon after the first line ended, another one started to form- this time with flowers.
Each little girl picked pink, orange, and white flowers from the ground outside the gate to their school and brought them to me, one-by-one, with endless smiles on their faces.

As one of the girls approached with a flower she looked up to me and said with her limited English, “Miss, I love you.” I gave her a hug and she ran back to her friends.

I could hardly contain my laughter from being treated like royalty as I told each of the girls how thankful I was for the beautiful flowers and to have met them.

For the rest of the day the children begged me to take their photos.They were all very excited when they saw pictures of themselves on the small, LCD screen of my camera.

I remember this day as a day of pure love and acceptance of different cultures and the people around you.

When the people of Ethiopia do things, they do them together. They look out for their neighbors, and become stronger in unison rather than as individuals.

It doesn’t matter where you come from or what your purpose is, they’re just happy you are there sharing what you can with them.

From → Features

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

